To the Indian Society in general and to the educational development in particular, the contribution of Hislop College has been significant. To the educational field it gave Sir Hari Singh Gour, who became the first Vice-Chancellor of the Delhi University and later gave away his entire wealth and energy in founding Sagar University. He was also a member of the Constituent Assembly which framed the Constitution. To the social arena, it has given Baba Amte whose work amongst the lepers needs no introduction and who has been so widely acclaimed the world over. To the polity of the Nation, Hilsop College gave Pandit Ravi Shankar Shukla.

And to Science, this college has given Dr. Saraswati Sukumar who today adorns the Barbara Rubenstein Chair at the Johns Hopkins University, USA, and has devised a method that detects breast cancer at one cell stage. To Science, it has also given Dr. Ketan Mulmule, who is today a highly reputed Senior Scientist at NASA and is doing commendable research in artificial intelligence. These are just the representative examples. Given below is a small list of our prominent alumni.

Baba Amte

Winner of Magasaysay Award; his work amongst lepers has won a wide acclaim world over. Winner of the Right Livelihood Award which is supposed to be an alternative to the Nobel Prize.

Dr. Sir. H.S.Gour

Jurist. Member of the Constituent Assembly of India which framed the constitution. Founding Vice-Chancellor of the Delhi University, Vice-Chancellor of Nagpur University, gave away his entire wealth and energy to start Sagar University. A postage stamp has been issued by the Govt. of India in his honour.

Col. C. K. Nayudu

One of the most famous cricketer India has ever produced.

Dr. Ashis Nandy

The famous sociologist and political psychologist. Has authored at least 10 books and has been a co-author of several others. 150 research papers. He is Director for the Study of Developing Societies, Delhi. Has been Chairperson of the Committee for Cultural Choices and Global Futures, Delhi, and associated with the executive committees or advisory boards of a number of institutions, including the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative, New Delhi, the Transnational Foundation for Peace and Future Research, Stockholm; and the Institute of Postcolonial Studies, Melbourne. Has also been a Fellow of the Woodrow Wilson International Center, Washington (1988); Fellow, Institute for Advanced Studies in Humanities, Edinburgh (1991); UNESCO Professor, Centre for European Studies, University of Trier, Germany (1994); and Regent's Fellow, University of California, Los Angeles (1997).

Hon. Dr. Sir. M.B. Niyogi

Ex- Vice-Chancellor, Nagpur University, Retd. Judge of Bombay High Court, Philanthropist, quite a lot of land belonging today to the Nagpur university, was donated by him.

Justice W. R. Puranik

Ex-Vice-Chancellor of Nagpur University, Retd. Judge of High Court of Judicature in Nagpur

Pt. Ravi Shankar Shukla

One of the great politicians this country has produced; Chief Minister of the erstwhile C. P. and berar; father of Shyamacharan Shukla and Vidyacharan Shukla. Shyamchandran Shukla became the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh..

Mr. P.B. Bhave

One of the most gifted Marathi writer. Several immortal works to his credit.

Guru Golwalkar

The second Sarsanghachalak of the RSS.

Mr. M. G. Vaidya

The present spokesman of RSS.

Justice Dharmaadhikari

Former Judge of High Court.

Dr. P. L. Bhandarkar

Former Vice-Chancellor of Nagpur University. A wonderful teacher of Sociology and has a widely selling and acclaimed textbook on the subject to his credit

Dr. G. B. Kadam

Former Vice-Chancellor, Nagpur University.

Dr. Saraswati Sukumar

Barbara Rubenstein Professor of Oncology and Experimental Therapeutics, Johns Hopkins University, USA. Has been credited with devising the ductal lavage technique to detect breast cancer at a single cell stage.

Dr. Anjali Karande

Principal Scientist, Department of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Dr. Ketan Mulmule

Currently a Senior Scientist at NASA, USA. Has a widely acclaimed work on artificial intelligence.

Dr. Pankaj Chande

Presently Vice-Chancellor of Kavi Kulguru Kalidas Sanskrit University, Ramtek. Has a lot of work to his credit on Sanskrit literature.

Mr. Jaynarayan Patel

Sitting Judge of Nagpur Bench of Mumbai High Court.

Dr. A. S. Arneja

One of the best cardiologists of the city.

Dr. H. Pitale

The most acclaimed diabetologist of the city.

Dr. R. Annapoorni

Research Associate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston, USA. Did path-breaking work with the notch gene.

Mr. Shantaram Potdukhe

Former Union Minister of State for Finance

Mr. Mukul Wasnik

Former Union Cabinet Minister for Sports. Also former Youth Congress President.

Mr. Satish Chaturvedi

Minister for textiles and guardian minister of Nagpur, Govt. of Maharashtra

Mr. Anees Ahmed

Minister of State for Technical and Higher Education, Govt. of Maharashtra.

Mr. Vilas Muttemwar

Member of Parliament

Ms. Harshawardhini Buty

Indian Revenue Service Officer

Mr. Sandeep Tamgade

IPS Officer (CBI) Posted in Nagaland

Mr. Alok Tiwari

Deputy Editor of the Hitavada, leading Daily of central India. Recipient of Chevning Scholarship, London.

Mr. Rajendra Purohit

Managing Editor, Hitavada.

Mr. Ashwin Mankeshwar

A highly acclaimed and accomplished Chartered Accountant

Mr. Sanjay Arora

Editor, Happening Nagpur.

Ms. Sujata Dani

IAS Officer

Asha Jacob

Director, WWF.

Mr. Paul Jacob John

Globe-trotting management consultant.

Mr. S. P. Naidu

Former Deputy Mayor, Nagpur Municipal Corporation.


In the 125 years of history of our college, we have had our fair share of friends who have aided us in every possible way in our pursuits and our quest. Bodies like the Scottish Church, AIACHE, CNI, Nagpur Diocese.

Our other friends are Central India Institute of Medical Sciences with whom we have research tie-up. Staff from this national establishment is also involved in teaching at our college.

We also have a tie-up with the PK Deshpande Memorial Cardiac centre for cardiac research. This allows us an interface with cardiac patients directly for our life-science research.

We have a mutual understanding with the PGTD of Chemistry, Nagpur University, for research and postgraduate teaching.

Our other friends are the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, the Institute of Company Secretaries of India, and the Yeshwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University. Several of our courses today run with their help.

Prominent Vice-Principals G.B./LMC Members and professors namely Prof. Jas Bremer, Prof.Chandi, Prof.Dharamraj, Prof.Pendse, Prof.Kane, Prof.W.N.Joseph, Dr.R.S.Thakur, Prof.V.D.Singh, Prof.S.C.Theophilus, Prof.J.F.Gimi, Prof.Karmarkar, Dr.Francis, Dr.N.S.Vaidya, Prof.C.H.Gupta, Late Dr.Rajkumar Beliram, Dr.Mahajan, Prof.A.P.David, Prof.K.A.Dhanraj, Mr. Jonathan Stevenson, former Librarian.

Hislop College today stands in a glorious 21st Century and is rendering more and more fruitful service in the field of educational and Social reforms.

Departments : Science | Commerce | Arts
Courses Offered & Admission : Science | Commerce | Arts
Infrastructure : Buildings | Labs | Auditorium | Library | Botanical Garden | Play Ground | Administrative Office